Magnetic Skies

London synthpoppers set for stadiums


Formed in 2019 by Simon Kent (lead vocals, synths) and Jo Womar (additional vocals, synths), London’s Magnetic Skies were initially inspired by the brooding new wave that emerged in the wake of punk. But after a batch of brilliant singles and EPs (including an emphatic cover of David Bowie’s ‘Ashes To Ashes’), the duo morphed into a quartet thanks to the addition of Carlos Aguilar (guitar) and Lenin Alegria (drums). The change in personnel led Magnetic Skies towards a darker, more rounded and polished sound, with their most recent output recalling the finest moments of big, bold and euphoric guitar-inflected 80s synthpop.

Why Magnetic Skies?

Their debut album, ‘Empire Falling’, which was released last month, is loaded with hands-in-the-air moments and arresting lyrics. Characterised by raw emotion, and fizzing with persuasive energy, the 10 tracks here are reverentially nostalgic and yet still completely innovative. At times, the emphatic ‘You Shine On’ and ‘Darker Night’ sound like a headlong crash between tour buses belonging to ‘Dare’-era Human League and A Flock Of Seagulls – all deep, pulsing, sequenced basslines, angular, hooky guitar riffs and massive, stadium-sized choruses.

Tell Us More…

The track ‘Magnetic Skies’, which originally appeared on their 2019 debut EP ‘Dreams And Memories’, has been reimagined as a strident number, poised between muted optimism and plaintive wistfulness. The standout cut, ‘Fading Lights’, has a thrilling and almost desperate urgency, with icy synth melodies swirling like moths around the light coming from Aguilar’s guitar. Still, ‘Outside’ is the album’s understated triumph with its introspective musical framework – Kent’s emotive vocals channelling numbness and a pure disconnection from life as it happens around you. An impressive and accomplished debut from an outfit you need to keep tabs on.

‘Empire Falling’ is out on Reprint

You May Also Like