Video: A Certain Ratio

Manchester legends drop ‘Afro Dizzy’, a new song from their 2023 album ‘1982’

Electronic Sound favourites ACR keep their pedal to the floor with a new album, ‘1982’, released by Mute on 31 March 2023.

Taken from the album, ‘Afro Dizzy’ was written around drum samples recorded by the late Nigerian master percussionist Tony Allen and features the vocals of Ellen Beth Abdi, who has become an integral part of the ACR project.

In classic ACR style, the track swerves genres with abandon, messing with its Afro-Beat core with synth squonks and burbles, with an eye-scorching animated video to match.

ACR go on tour in April:

20 April – Edinburgh, Voodoo Rooms
21 April – Huddersfield, The Parish
22 April – Manchester, New Century Hall
23 April – Leeds, Brudenell
25 April – Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
26 April – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
27 April – Bristol, The Exchange
29 April – London, The Garage

Pre-order ‘1982’:

You May Also Like
Read More

ESLS009 – Crack Cloud

Crack Cloud's session for Electronic Sound came in the wake of their second album, ‘Tough Baby‘, the follow-up to 2020's extraordinary ‘Pain Olympics‘ and is a masterclass of intensity and free musical thinking.