As one half of breakout electronica duo Sink Ya Teeth, Gemma Cullingford provided the bass groove to their post-punk electro theatrics. Now two albums into her solo career, the 2021 debut ‘Let Me Speak’ and 2022’s ‘Tongue Tied’, Gemma creates catchy electronic pop with deep underground roots.

Centred around sparse electronics, bass guitar and killer hooks, her music is notable for the vocals, which are breathy and whispered, sometimes spoken, and flashes of lyrical strangeness.

Last year, when we interviewed Gemma for the first album, she claimed she wouldn’t be playing live. If you change your mind, we said, come and play a session for us. She did change her mind, and here is her session, her first venture into the solo live performance. It turned out to be an understated masterclass in generating electronic dancefloor heat.

Set list:

  1. Queen Bee
  2. Tongue Tied
  3. New Day
  4. I Like You
  5. Holding Dreams
  6. Chronicle of Sound
  7. Wide Boys

You May Also Like
Read More

Ambient Trip Commander

Watch the whole trippy film with Legowelt’s electronic soundtrack If you’ve been listening to the ‘Ambient Light /…